jueves, 22 de octubre de 2020



La siempre interesante banda polaca Black Altar entrega un nuevo lanzamiento en formato split con los noruegos Kirkebrann, encargandose ellos de abrir el mismo con dos temas nuevos y un outro. El sonido que nos ofrecen los polacos en estos dos temas es un sonido black sólido con muchos elementos clásicos, fruto de una carrera que arranca en 1996, pero que también sabe ofrecer algunos aportes de sonidos más actuales. El primero de sus temas "Deus Inversus" es un tema poderoso y contundente desde el inicio, con un ritmo implacable en donde el entramado de guitarras logra ofrecer un plano atmosférico y épico a su música, con voces agresivas y una implacable batería que completan el conjunto. "Ancient Warlust" que le da continuación ofrece un mayor dinamismo y riqueza de guitarras, es un temas que fluye desde un apartado más crudo, con guitarras rápidas, de riffs densos y profundos que poco a poco va medrando hacia un black mucho más agresivo, ofreciendo un espectro de elementos que tanto podemos reconocer como clásicos como otros más actuales sin que en ningún momento se resienta el apartado de las voces, que siembran la destrucción más profunda y la batería que va ganando enteros a mediad que el tema coge velocidad. El "outro" que completa el aporte de Black Altar en este compartido es una pieza atmosférica y ambiet de sonidos letárgicos y vacuos. (8,2).

1. Black Altar - Deus Inversus 06:43  
2. Black Altar - Ancient Warlust 05:45  
3. Black Altar - Outro 02:13  
4. Kirkebrann - Begrensa Bevissthet 04:13   
5. Kirkebrann - Faux Pas 04:07  
6. Kirkebrann - Et Nederlag 05:40  
7. Kirkebrann - Ufødte Klarhet 02:47  

389 copies pressed on traditional black vinyl. All copies come in a velvet case wrapped gatefold cover with silver hot foil logo and title.
HELLS HEADBANGERS is proud to present the long-awaited third album of legendary Greek black metal institution AGATUS, The Eternalist. Rendered in warm analog tones, gritty but full of life, AGATUS' The Eternalist is an epic journey across the hinterlands of the imagination. In many ways, it follows the heavy metalled direction of 2002's celebrated The Weaving Fates but incorporates the proggier textures of 2012's Gilgamesh EP, thus ushering in a new era for the duo that's respectful of the past but sets its sights on the future - and the unknown.
Says founder The Dark, "The Eternalist reflects another dimension of my compositional style whilst maintaining the signature sounds that AGATUS are known for. Here I delve further into old heavy metal sounds that have always been an inspiration to me and created what I consider my most memorable album to date."
Kaleidoscopic in its vision, with The Eternalist, AGATUS set a clear course toward older sounds and atmospheres: a golden ratio combining the feel of NWOBHM with '70s rock and everything that you have come to know and anticipate of these two brother musicians over the years. Vorskaath adds, "We decided to take an old-style hard rock/heavy metal approach that is manifest on every aspect of the album, from the performances and recording to the sounds we chose and the way we mixed. From the very first notes of The Eternalist, that feel is unmistakably there."
With HELLS HEADBANGERS' full backing of this unique and visionary cult, AGATUS will reclaim the momentum achieved during the early 2000s and venture forward into previously untouched realms of glory.
Formed in 1991, AGATUS belong to the first wave of black metal bands to emerge from Greece and consists of The Dark and Vorskaath - brothers and founding members. Their first album, 1994's Dawn of Martyrdom, commanded a cult following as a milestone in Greek black metal, and their followup, The Weaving Fates, received critical acclaim for the musicality and individual sound of the band, which has remained largely a side-project. Three EPs - The Rite of Metamorphosis, Night Mares, and Gilgamesh - have also been released, showing the steady evolution of a band whose exploratory excursions never rest.
The Dark and Vorskaath are also known for their collaboration with artists such as ZEMIAL, Varathron, Absu, Alpha Centauri, Kawir, Equimanthorn, Raven Black Night, Stone Cold Dead, Mark Riddick's Fetid Zombie, and many others.
On The Eternalist, AGATUSare:
The Dark | all voices & choirs, electric & acoustic guitars, electric bass, e-bow, synthesizer, percussion, effects
Vorskaath | drum set, percussion, synthesizer, electric guitar

No hay comentarios: